EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Motherboard
Supermicro X11SPA-T
CPU
Intel Xeon W-3275 28 Core
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hello to the mod's

would also like to test the solution you're working on for Antelope Audio Interfaces.
I have a Zen Q Synergy Core running to my hackintosh Catalina 10.15
im using thunderbolt 3 on my motherboard

I also have a
Gigabyte Z490 designare vision D
CPU i9 10900K
GPU RX 570


Thanks and best regards.
Billy
Please refer to the following
 

billy

New member
Joined
Jul 27, 2021
Motherboard
gigabyte Z490 Designare Vision D
CPU
i9 10900K
Graphics
RX 570
OS X/macOS
10.15.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. iMac Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Please refer to the following
yes, im follow this method and still not working.
 

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Motherboard
Supermicro X11SPA-T
CPU
Intel Xeon W-3275 28 Core
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
yes, im follow this method and still not working.
Please use the guide thread and provide your PR files to check further.
 

burnsaudio

New member
Joined
Aug 13, 2021
Motherboard
Azus Z170-A
CPU
i7 7700k
Graphics
Nvidia GeForce GT 710
OS X/macOS
10.14.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey guys! Thanks for all your hard work, this is really really great!

The interesting behavior I'm trying to sort out is not having the proper I/O count with the Antelope Goliath. I have 32 in and 32 out instead of 64 in and out.

The bandwidth says 40bs until I plug it in, then it says 10gps after I plug it in... I'm using a startech tb3 to tb2 adapter with a 2m startech cable.

Aside from the missing I/O it appears to be working perfectly... I called antelope support, and of course they can't help much.. but the tech said their protocol is to have the user purchase new cables and/or adapter when there's only 32 channels. I purchased those today, and I'll update the thread on whether a shorter apple cable and apple adapter can get to 20gbs stream. The antelope tech felt the stream should say 20gbs and not 10gbs.

I'm using custom ACPI files I made to make hotplug work with a flashed Titan Ridge. I have full hotplug working, and it worked with the UAD stuff I had before too.

Any insight is much appreciated!

Edit*. New adapter and cable came in... same behavior.
 
Last edited:

burnsaudio

New member
Joined
Aug 13, 2021
Motherboard
Azus Z170-A
CPU
i7 7700k
Graphics
Nvidia GeForce GT 710
OS X/macOS
10.14.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Also, I'm happy to test any new methods. :). Just trying to get full 64x64 I/O. I own a very active studio. Thank you!!!
 

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Motherboard
Supermicro X11SPA-T
CPU
Intel Xeon W-3275 28 Core
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
The bandwidth says 40bs until I plug it in, then it says 10gps after I plug it in... I'm using a startech tb3 to tb2 adapter with a 2m startech cable.
Normally, the port performs at 40Gb/s but if the device doesn't supports that much, it will use Device speed instead of 40Gb/s. 40Gb/s is the actual capacity and if you use any 40Gb/s capable Device, it will have that much of bandwidth.
Aside from the missing I/O it appears to be working perfectly... I called antelope support, and of course they can't help much.. but the tech said their protocol is to have the user purchase new cables and/or adapter when there's only 32 channels. I purchased those today, and I'll update the thread on whether a shorter apple cable and apple adapter can get to 20gbs stream. The antelope tech felt the stream should say 20gbs and not 10gbs.
Okay, as no PR files are attached, it would be hard to say. But cable length cannot define the bandwidth. Have you tried to reset your Interface?
I'm using custom ACPI files I made to make hotplug work with a flashed Titan Ridge. I have full hotplug working, and it worked with the UAD stuff I had before too.

Any insight is much appreciated!

Edit*. New adapter and cable came in... same behavior.
The mods will contact you soon and investigate the issue.
 

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Motherboard
Supermicro X11SPA-T
CPU
Intel Xeon W-3275 28 Core
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Also, I'm happy to test any new methods. :). Just trying to get full 64x64 I/O. I own a very active studio. Thank you!!!
Perfect. We'll try to investigate and sort out the issue for you.
 

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Motherboard
Supermicro X11SPA-T
CPU
Intel Xeon W-3275 28 Core
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Perfect. We'll try to investigate and sort out the issue for you.
Try to reset your Interface and you should have 64/64 for TB. Make sure BIOS setting is as per the guide.
 

ccgrlds

New member
Joined
Sep 7, 2021
Motherboard
To build
CPU
To build
Graphics
To build
OS X/macOS
10.12.x
Bootloader
  1. Clover (UEFI)
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hello all, I am a beginner in this forum, in fact actually I did not build my machine yet and I just registered on the website just because of this thread especifically. :) So my plan is just to stick with one method and will be from here. I would like to know the points if there is any updated hardware recommendations since the early start of this thread?

I do have an Antelope 3rd generation and I am happy to see that users finally made it.

I also have some questions like, are there problems or limitations if I want to stick to an earlier OS like Mojave for example? Or Catalina vs Big Sur etc.. I prefer sticking with not the latest OS versions to old Software compability, but in the end the most inmportant part for me will be running Pro Tools and the Antelope HW so I will just stick with your best recomendation

The last one is as I won't be doing much of gaming or video work. Is it recommended or mandatory to have a dedicated Video Card? Or a native one on the Intel Chip would do.

Thanks a lot!
 
Last edited:

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Motherboard
Supermicro X11SPA-T
CPU
Intel Xeon W-3275 28 Core
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hello all, I am a beginner in this forum, in fact actually I did not build my machine yet and I just registered on the website just because of this thread especifically. :) So my plan is just to stick with one method and will be from here. I would like to know the points if there is any updated hardware recommendations since the early start of this thread?
Welcome to EliteMacx86! It's very simple, all the manufacturers mentioned here, have some issues when you use a PC or Laptop with macOS installed not being a natively supported Device for macOS. So, there are three workarounds. Either use a USB Interface which is not good for pro users. Second, buy an interface like UAD where drivers are written well and does not have much dependency on the features and Third one is implement what's needed and you can have all. Choose what fits you best.
I do have an Antelope 3rd generation and I am happy to see that users finally made it.
What model?
I also have some questions like, are there problems or limitations if I want to stick to an earlier OS like Mojave for example? Or Catalina vs Big Sur etc.. I prefer sticking with not the latest OS versions to old Software compability, but in the end the most inmportant part for me will be running Pro Tools and the Antelope HW so I will just stick with your best recomendation
No, such limitations for Workstations. The workaround supports upto macOS Monterey. Generally, if you use 32-bit plugins, use Mojave and if you don't have any 32-bit plugin usage, then use Catalina or Big Sur. Both works perfect. Of course, check your plugin and audio hardware compatibility first.

The last one is as I won't be doing much of gaming or video work. Is it recommended or mandatory to have a dedicated Video Card? Or a native one on the Intel Chip would do.
Of course you can have IGPU. But even when you don't have any gaming or video work, a low profile GPU will be best suited which will avoid little issues. A perfect example is NVIDIA GT 710.
 

Forum statistics

Threads
537
Messages
5,277
Members
4,703
Latest member
The7thOracle