GUIDE How to Enable Thunderbolt 3 Hotplug on macOS

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z370 AROUS GAMING 3
CPU
Intel Core i9 9900K
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hi There, and thanx a lot for your fantastic guide
I have a gigabyte z390 Gmaing SLi and a try to put the flashed GC titan Ridge card (with the cable pin 3 and 5 linked) in different pcie slot on my board.
Latest BIOS Version F10j.
Only the PICex2 slot (the bottom black slot) can show RP19 in IOREGISTRY. The other reccomended slots like the PCIex16 show me PEG0 or PEG1. I tried to change the address PEG0, PEG1 or PEGP with MaciASL but nothing.
Only way to see the card work is to put the card in the PCIex2 slot with RP19 address. and it works. But i cannot use the hotplug feature.

If I put the TBTforcepower.efi in drivers i receive the error:

Unsupported PCH SKU, LpcDevice 0xA305 !
GPIO ERROR: Icorrect GpioPad used on this Chipset (group=19 pad=257) !
Failed to write GPIO - Invalid Parameter
Error: Invalid Parameter returned from TbtForcePower.efi


Please can you help me?

Thanx a lot again
The above error is very normal.
This guide doesn't explains to flash the Thunderbolt Card or the onboard chip. You must flash the stock firmware and then continue with the guide.
Or Better, firstly can you suggest me in wich slot i have to put the TB Card? talking about the z390 gaming sli
You can install the Card in any available slot.
 

peewe

New member
Joined
Nov 24, 2020
Motherboard
gigabyte z390 gaming sli
CPU
i7 9700
Graphics
nvidia gt740
OS X/macOS
10.15.x
Bootloader
  1. Clover (UEFI)
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Thanx for the reply.
I Had just flashed correctly the titan card.

NEWS:
I solved 90%.
Now I can see on system/info/thunderbolt Apple Inc. Thunderbolt ad 40Gbps...OYYEAHHHHH

But I disabled the TBTforcepower cause i had the errore i posted here in the last post.
But seems to work. I use the UA Apollo8. Now i tried to turn off and again again, the system load correctly everytime the device.

To Sum all things.

Gigabyte Z390 GAMING SLI
GC TITAN RIDGE put in the Bottom Black PCIeX2 SLot
I plug also the Power connector into the TB CARD.
UNIVERSAL AUDIO Apollo 8 with TB3 add Card


I Updated the ACPI file following your Guide.

AND after a week that i work I can open a good bottle of wine and say.. YYEAHHHHHHHHHH


PS..... after some minute sometimes the TB cant enable the Apollo. I think the problem is the hot plug.
I'm using now the opencore loader, but i have the same issue with clover too
 

peewe

New member
Joined
Nov 24, 2020
Motherboard
gigabyte z390 gaming sli
CPU
i7 9700
Graphics
nvidia gt740
OS X/macOS
10.15.x
Bootloader
  1. Clover (UEFI)
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Here is....

When I put tbtforcepower.efi in /EFI/OC/DRIVER and I compile the config.plist
i receive this message.

If I do the same thing with clover bootloader I have the same error
 

Attachments

  • Foto del 27-11-20 alle 11.45.jpg
    Foto del 27-11-20 alle 11.45.jpg
    203.1 KB · Views: 28

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z370 AROUS GAMING 3
CPU
Intel Core i9 9900K
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Thanx for the reply.
I Had just flashed correctly the titan card.

NEWS:
I solved 90%.
Now I can see on system/info/thunderbolt Apple Inc. Thunderbolt ad 40Gbps...OYYEAHHHHH

But I disabled the TBTforcepower cause i had the errore i posted here in the last post.
But seems to work. I use the UA Apollo8. Now i tried to turn off and again again, the system load correctly everytime the device.

To Sum all things.

Gigabyte Z390 GAMING SLI
GC TITAN RIDGE put in the Bottom Black PCIeX2 SLot
I plug also the Power connector into the TB CARD.
UNIVERSAL AUDIO Apollo 8 with TB3 add Card


I Updated the ACPI file following your Guide.

AND after a week that i work I can open a good bottle of wine and say.. YYEAHHHHHHHHHH


PS..... after some minute sometimes the TB cant enable the Apollo. I think the problem is the hot plug.
I'm using now the opencore loader, but i have the same issue with clover too
Here is....

When I put tbtforcepower.efi in /EFI/OC/DRIVER and I compile the config.plist
i receive this message.

If I do the same thing with clover bootloader I have the same error
No PR files attached.
The error is very normal and the guide will be updated soon for OC users.
 

Ferz

New member
Joined
Nov 17, 2020
Motherboard
Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
CPU
Intel Core i7-8700K
Graphics
AORUS Radeon RX570 4GB
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Provide your Thunderbolt information.
where I can find it ? I have Alpine Ridge v 1.0 from Gigabyte installed into the last slot in Z370 gigabyte aorus gaming 7 MotherBoard. what else information do I need to provide? thanks
 

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z370 AROUS GAMING 3
CPU
Intel Core i9 9900K
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
where I can find it ? I have Alpine Ridge v 1.0 from Gigabyte installed into the last slot in Z370 gigabyte aorus gaming 7 MotherBoard. what else information do I need to provide? thanks
And what Device are you using to test?
 

Ferz

New member
Joined
Nov 17, 2020
Motherboard
Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
CPU
Intel Core i7-8700K
Graphics
AORUS Radeon RX570 4GB
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
And what Device are you using to test?
External ssd Samsung X5 480gb. I also have MacBook air 2018 on original MacBook and on Windows it works fine
 

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z370 AROUS GAMING 3
CPU
Intel Core i9 9900K
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
External ssd Samsung X5 480gb. I also have MacBook air 2018 on original MacBook and on Windows it works fine
Windows is a completely different OS. It's explained in the guide.
 

Ferz

New member
Joined
Nov 17, 2020
Motherboard
Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
CPU
Intel Core i7-8700K
Graphics
AORUS Radeon RX570 4GB
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Last edited:

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z370 AROUS GAMING 3
CPU
Intel Core i9 9900K
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Last edited:

Similar threads