reynoldb69stang

New member
Joined
Jul 26, 2021
Motherboard
2009 Mac Pro cheese grater
CPU
Dual 6 core 3.34GHz
Graphics
AMD 580
OS X/macOS
10.15.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Is your Card flashed with a custom firmware?
Yes and I have since updated the custom firmware myself since purchasing. Bought a second card to try another firmware. My laptop sees my Mac pro and the Mac pro sees the laptop in system report TB "macintosh" shows on both. I even have not active thunderbolt 1 and 2 ports under advanced/Networking/Preferences. I have since created a 10g eithernet network. But I still want to know why I can not peer to pear. Lol
 

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Motherboard
Supermicro X11SPA-T
CPU
Intel Xeon W-3275 28 Core
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Yes and I have since updated the custom firmware myself since purchasing. Bought a second card to try another firmware. My laptop sees my Mac pro and the Mac pro sees the laptop in system report TB "macintosh" shows on both. I even have not active thunderbolt 1 and 2 ports under advanced/Networking/Preferences. I have since created a 10g eithernet network. But I still want to know why I can not peer to pear. Lol
You must configure the Bridge Network first.
 

reynoldb69stang

New member
Joined
Jul 26, 2021
Motherboard
2009 Mac Pro cheese grater
CPU
Dual 6 core 3.34GHz
Graphics
AMD 580
OS X/macOS
10.15.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
You must configure the Bridge Network first.
Yep I went ahead through these steps again. No dice. I bought a Mac mini to network to my laptop via thunderbolt. No problems there. So I believe I am setting up the bridge correct on the 5.1. Interesting is that migration assistant on recognizes FireWire. Makes me think that when my supported TB Mac sees an unsupported Mac, it rejects it. I tried thunderbolt3unblocker next just in case on both machines. No dice. So I am thinking this might be 5.1 firmware related to networking. Maybe I can fool it into thinking it is a 7.1 Mac pro. Just guessing now. Ty
You must configure the Bridge Network first.
Yep I have managed to create network bridges. I have also attempted Thunderbolt3Unblocker. No dice. Migration assistant wants FireWire and no option for thunderbolt. Using Dosdude Catalina patch. Maybe a legacy patch is required? Maybe it is 5.1 bios that is lacking. Guessing now. What do you think?
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20210901_080720.jpg
    IMG_20210901_080720.jpg
    5.4 MB · Views: 15
  • IMG_20210901_082139.jpg
    IMG_20210901_082139.jpg
    3.8 MB · Views: 16
  • IMG_20210901_082046.jpg
    IMG_20210901_082046.jpg
    3.2 MB · Views: 16

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Motherboard
Supermicro X11SPA-T
CPU
Intel Xeon W-3275 28 Core
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Yep I went ahead through these steps again. No dice. I bought a Mac mini to network to my laptop via thunderbolt. No problems there. So I believe I am setting up the bridge correct on the 5.1. Interesting is that migration assistant on recognizes FireWire. Makes me think that when my supported TB Mac sees an unsupported Mac, it rejects it. I tried thunderbolt3unblocker next just in case on both machines. No dice. So I am thinking this might be 5.1 firmware related to networking. Maybe I can fool it into thinking it is a 7.1 Mac pro. Just guessing now. Ty

Yep I have managed to create network bridges. I have also attempted Thunderbolt3Unblocker. No dice. Migration assistant wants FireWire and no option for thunderbolt. Using Dosdude Catalina patch. Maybe a legacy patch is required? Maybe it is 5.1 bios that is lacking. Guessing now. What do you think?
No PR files attached. Moreover, this isn't a correct place to post. Your issue is Networking using Thunderbolt. This thread is for Hotplug only. Consider creating a new thread in appropriate forum and your previous posts will be moved to them.

If you're using a TB AIC in your MP5,1, probably, you're using OC for that. Note that, MP5,1 doesn't includes any TB by default so there is a less chance that it will work. This is why when writing the guide, i suggested to use iMacPro1,1 Board ID which will activate everything.
 

jeam25

New member
Joined
Jul 15, 2021
Motherboard
Arock Z590 Steel Legend
CPU
i9 10900 Comet Lake
Graphics
Radeon Pulse 580
OS X/macOS
10.15.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi friends !

Everything was working great on Catalina but I needed to upgrade to Big Sur. My Thunderbolt devices install well but after reboot the TB devices extension are blocked and Big Sur won't see them . I have to use the terminal command : sudo touch /Library/Extensions , in order to get Big Sur recognize the devices. Got to do it every time I boot. Any idea on how to solve this ? IM using the same SSD as in Catalina so I think that should not be an issue .

Thanks
 

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Motherboard
Supermicro X11SPA-T
CPU
Intel Xeon W-3275 28 Core
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hi friends !

Everything was working great on Catalina but I needed to upgrade to Big Sur. My Thunderbolt devices install well but after reboot the TB devices extension are blocked and Big Sur won't see them . I have to use the terminal command : sudo touch /Library/Extensions , in order to get Big Sur recognize the devices. Got to do it every time I boot. Any idea on how to solve this ? IM using the same SSD as in Catalina so I think that should not be an issue .

Thanks
The correct command is sudo kextcache -i/

Also, make sure to allow extensions under System Preferences, if prompted.
 

jeam25

New member
Joined
Jul 15, 2021
Motherboard
Arock Z590 Steel Legend
CPU
i9 10900 Comet Lake
Graphics
Radeon Pulse 580
OS X/macOS
10.15.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi and thanks for answer did the command but didn't work. Big Sur won't see the TB devices at boot. I have to do the touch command or just do something in the extension folder in order them to appear in the system .
 

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Motherboard
Supermicro X11SPA-T
CPU
Intel Xeon W-3275 28 Core
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hi and thanks for answer did the command but didn't work. Big Sur won't see the TB devices at boot. I have to do the touch command or just do something in the extension folder in order them to appear in the system .
No PR files attached. Also, what do you mean by at boot?
 

jeam25

New member
Joined
Jul 15, 2021
Motherboard
Arock Z590 Steel Legend
CPU
i9 10900 Comet Lake
Graphics
Radeon Pulse 580
OS X/macOS
10.15.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi and sorry I will put the PR files later. By boot I mean reboot or after system booted.
 

jeam25

New member
Joined
Jul 15, 2021
Motherboard
Arock Z590 Steel Legend
CPU
i9 10900 Comet Lake
Graphics
Radeon Pulse 580
OS X/macOS
10.15.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Here they are ! Thanks
 

Attachments

  • Archive.zip
    7.3 MB · Views: 13

Forum statistics

Threads
537
Messages
5,277
Members
4,703
Latest member
The7thOracle