Mic Input Level Problem!

Mohali26

New member
Joined
Nov 25, 2019
Messages
5
Motherboard
Acer E1-572
CPU
I7-4500U
Graphics
Intel Graphic 4400HD
OS X/macOS
10.15.x
Bootloader
  1. Clover (UEFI)
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hello!

I have Looked everywhere for a solution for this problem, but it seems that it kinda off rare. Anyway here is the issue:
The Microphone for what ever reason Max out when ever one of the following occurs:
- Siri is activated.
- Voice Dictation is activated.
- Playing Chess.
Screenshot 2019-11-25 at 02.26.33.png

Screenshot 2019-11-25 at 02.27.13.png


But the second any of these are no longer activated, the Mic behaves normally, keep in mind that I can use voice recorder and it records sound very clearly.
I looked around and found people complaining about the exact opposite of my problem, that any of these lowers the levels so low that it can't hear them.

The setup I am using:

Lilu.kext + AppleALC.kext
Layout-id= 28
 

Attachments

  • iOReg-Dump.zip
    735.7 KB · Views: 194

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Messages
3,419
Motherboard
Supermicro X11SPA-T
CPU
Intel Xeon W-3275 28 Core
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hello!

I have Looked everywhere for a solution for this problem, but it seems that it kinda off rare. Anyway here is the issue:
The Microphone for what ever reason Max out when ever one of the following occurs:
- Siri is activated.
- Voice Dictation is activated.
- Playing Chess.
View attachment 1859
View attachment 1858

But the second any of these are no longer activated, the Mic behaves normally, keep in mind that I can use voice recorder and it records sound very clearly.
I looked around and found people complaining about the exact opposite of my problem, that any of these lowers the levels so low that it can't hear them.

The setup I am using:

Lilu.kext + AppleALC.kext
Layout-id= 28
Incomplete PR files attached. Read here:
 

Mohali26

New member
Joined
Nov 25, 2019
Messages
5
Motherboard
Acer E1-572
CPU
I7-4500U
Graphics
Intel Graphic 4400HD
OS X/macOS
10.15.x
Bootloader
  1. Clover (UEFI)
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Incomplete PR files attached. Read here:

Here is the Complete PR, tell me if you require more detail.
 

Attachments

  • Mohemmad-Macbook.zip
    3.9 MB · Views: 206

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Messages
3,419
Motherboard
Supermicro X11SPA-T
CPU
Intel Xeon W-3275 28 Core
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Here is the Complete PR, tell me if you require more detail.
There are couple of issues.

1. Choose one method for the kexts. Either in L/E or S/L/E or in Clover/Kexts/others. You're having duplicate kexts in L/E and some of the same kexts are present in Clover/Kexts/others.
2. Use one Battery kext. Either ACPIBatteryManager or SMCBatteryManager
3. The config.plist is not as per the guide. Follow the guide here:

Make sure to use the stock config.plist with verbose enabled. Do NOT perform any other changes.
4. No patched DSDT and SSDTs found. You must patch DSDT. Follow the guide here:

5. For the Audio, your Codec is Realtek ALC282. Use layout ID=13 and then report.

Do the above changes and reply with new files.
 

Mohali26

New member
Joined
Nov 25, 2019
Messages
5
Motherboard
Acer E1-572
CPU
I7-4500U
Graphics
Intel Graphic 4400HD
OS X/macOS
10.15.x
Bootloader
  1. Clover (UEFI)
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
There are couple of issues.

1. Choose one method for the kexts. Either in L/E or S/L/E or in Clover/Kexts/others. You're having duplicate kexts in L/E and some of the same kexts are present in Clover/Kexts/others.
2. Use one Battery kext. Either ACPIBatteryManager or SMCBatteryManager
3. The config.plist is not as per the guide. Follow the guide here:

Make sure to use the stock config.plist with verbose enabled. Do NOT perform any other changes.
4. No patched DSDT and SSDTs found. You must patch DSDT. Follow the guide here:

5. For the Audio, your Codec is Realtek ALC282. Use layout ID=13 and then report.

Do the above changes and reply with new files.

I followed your steps except for number 3:
1- I erased the majority of the Kext from Clover/other.
2- Kept SMCBatteryManager
4- I patched DSDT. ( I also added my the Originals, can you please check if i did it correctly, I tried to follow every step of the guide)
5- I have set my layout to 13, keep in mind that the reason I am using Layout 28 is the mic works there, while in 13 Mic detected but no audio.

As for Step 3, let me tell you my config file started from there and i edit everything, but i tried to give it a go and it would no longer boot, I had to boot using my USB clover setup and reedit it back so I can boot normally.
 

Attachments

  • New Report.zip
    2.4 MB · Views: 196

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Messages
3,419
Motherboard
Supermicro X11SPA-T
CPU
Intel Xeon W-3275 28 Core
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
1- I erased the majority of the Kext from Clover/other.
You've Lilu and VirtualSMC in Clover/kexts/other and also in L/E. Remove from L/E. These basic kexts must be in your EFI partition.
2- Kept SMCBatteryManager
Good
4- I patched DSDT. ( I also added my the Originals, can you please check if i did it correctly, I tried to follow every step of the guide)
DSDT is not patched fully. Please point out what patches did you applied.
5- I have set my layout to 13, keep in mind that the reason I am using Layout 28 is the mic works there, while in 13 Mic detected but no audio.
Use Layout ID 13 with Insanely Deepak's Apple HDA. Remove AppleALC. Use his Sierra Repo. Note that i asked you to use Apple HDA, not Clover HDA. And the Audio patches must be applied in your DSDT which has been skipped in the current files you attached.
Also, i noticed some Acer Laptops which has a weird behaviour. The Mic doesn't works properly. Some models don't even work. Some were fixed by updating BIOS.
As for Step 3, let me tell you my config file started from there and i edit everything, but i tried to give it a go and it would no longer boot, I had to boot using my USB clover setup and reedit it back so I can boot normally.
Did you tried it with the DSDT? Please note that you have to follow the guide referred in point no. 3 as exactly it is without any extra kexts and DSDT patch. Only basic kexts. The only modification will be is enabling of verbose mode in config.plist. The rest will be the same as per the guide.
Also, when you tried to boot, what error did you get? Attach a screenshot for reference.
 

Mohali26

New member
Joined
Nov 25, 2019
Messages
5
Motherboard
Acer E1-572
CPU
I7-4500U
Graphics
Intel Graphic 4400HD
OS X/macOS
10.15.x
Bootloader
  1. Clover (UEFI)
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
You've Lilu and VirtualSMC in Clover/kexts/other and also in L/E. Remove from L/E. These basic kexts must be in your EFI partition.

Good

DSDT is not patched fully. Please point out what patches did you applied.

Use Layout ID 13 with Insanely Deepak's Apple HDA. Remove AppleALC. Use his Sierra Repo. Note that i asked you to use Apple HDA, not Clover HDA. And the Audio patches must be applied in your DSDT which has been skipped in the current files you attached.
Also, i noticed some Acer Laptops which has a weird behaviour. The Mic doesn't works properly. Some models don't even work. Some were fixed by updating BIOS.

Did you tried it with the DSDT? Please note that you have to follow the guide referred in point no. 3 as exactly it is without any extra kexts and DSDT patch. Only basic kexts. The only modification will be is enabling of verbose mode in config.plist. The rest will be the same as per the guide.
Also, when you tried to boot, what error did you get? Attach a screenshot for reference.

- I have moved everything to L/E, Now clover have no Kext. ( I have a Usb with the Clover and all Kext there just in case)

- DSDT was patched according to Guide you told me to follow, and from the common patches, I applied these:
  • Layout ID (Chose layout 14 and edit to 13)
  • Rename GFX0 to IGPU
  • HPET Fix
  • SMBUS Fix
  • Rename B0D3 to HDAU
- I have Loaded Insanely Deepak's Apple HDA into L/E

- As for Config.plist, no matter what I do, I can boot using the unmodified one. If it's possible can you check what is so vastly different between, the original plist (config.plist) and my edited plist (config-BK.plist). and verbose doesn't help, cause it reboots immediately. no error whats so ever, it gives up from the get go, doesn't hang or anything (if you want I can record a small clip of it and upload it).
 

Attachments

  • New Report.zip
    2.1 MB · Views: 203

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Messages
3,419
Motherboard
Supermicro X11SPA-T
CPU
Intel Xeon W-3275 28 Core
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Layout ID (Chose layout 14 and edit to 13)
I don't know how you patched. But no any traces for Audio patches in your previous files.
  • Rename GFX0 to IGPU
  • HPET Fix
  • SMBUS Fix
  • Rename B0D3 to HDAU
These are the very common patches and has not been applied properly.

- I have Loaded Insanely Deepak's Apple HDA into L/E
Wrong. Backup the original AppleHDA from S/L/E. Install the new AppleHDA (patched) in S/L/E. Read the Audio guide. AppleHDA MUST be installed in S/L/E only.
- As for Config.plist, no matter what I do, I can boot using the unmodified one. If it's possible can you check what is so vastly different between, the original plist (config.plist) and my edited plist (config-BK.plist). and verbose doesn't help, cause it reboots immediately. no error whats so ever, it gives up from the get go, doesn't hang or anything (if you want I can record a small clip of it and upload it).
Yes, like i mentioned, please provide the booting error screenshot or a footage.

For the patches, attach a screenshot of DPCI Manager. Status and PCIList tab and i'll mention the recommend patches for your Laptop.
 

Mohali26

New member
Joined
Nov 25, 2019
Messages
5
Motherboard
Acer E1-572
CPU
I7-4500U
Graphics
Intel Graphic 4400HD
OS X/macOS
10.15.x
Bootloader
  1. Clover (UEFI)
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I don't know how you patched. But no any traces for Audio patches in your previous files.

These are the very common patches and has not been applied properly.


Wrong. Backup the original AppleHDA from S/L/E. Install the new AppleHDA (patched) in S/L/E. Read the Audio guide. AppleHDA MUST be installed in S/L/E only.

Yes, like i mentioned, please provide the booting error screenshot or a footage.

For the patches, attach a screenshot of DPCI Manager. Status and PCIList tab and i'll mention the recommend patches for your Laptop.

I have Done the following:
-AppleHDA in S/L/E
-Footage of the Verbose
-I also removed DSDT from patched folder since i did wrong.(will try again)
-Attached Images from DPCI Manager
 

Attachments

  • New Report.zip
    2.3 MB · Views: 191
  • Error.mov.zip
    37.4 MB · Views: 281

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Messages
3,419
Motherboard
Supermicro X11SPA-T
CPU
Intel Xeon W-3275 28 Core
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I have Done the following:
-AppleHDA in S/L/E
-Footage of the Verbose
-I also removed DSDT from patched folder since i did wrong.(will try again)
-Attached Images from DPCI Manager
For the DSDT, extract fresh ones and apply the following patches.
  • Layout ID
  • Rename GFX0 to IGPU
  • Fix _WAK Arg0 v2
  • Fix Mutex with non-zero SyncLevel
  • HPET Fix
  • IRQ Fix
  • OS Check Fix
  • RTC Fix
  • SMBUS Fix
  • Rename B0D3 to HDAU
  • Fix PNOT/PPNT (use only if you're dropping CPU related SSDTs)
  • Haswell LPC
Why are you using some other boot args when booting? Boot without any bootargs. Do NOT use keepsyms=1 debug=0x100
And make sure you're booting via right config.plist and patches. Better if you don't use the USB to boot.
 
Similar threads
Thread starter Title Forum Replies Date
P AppleALC Earphone mic not working Audio 44
ishvnu Mic working Speaker not working Catalina 10.15.4 Audio 5

Similar threads

Forum statistics

Threads
673
Messages
7,046
Members
5,890
Latest member
haggar12