Intel UHD 620 on Acer Swift 3, Problems...

Zeisz

New member
Joined
Dec 28, 2019
Motherboard
145000
CPU
I3 8145U
Graphics
Intel UHD 620
OS X/macOS
10.15.x
Bootloader
  1. Clover (UEFI)
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hello, first of all this is my first post on this forum, i would like to thanks a lot to the people who brought this forum live and everyone else who tries to help people here.

I have an Acer Swift 3 SF314-56, Specs of my device are;
Intel® Core™ i3 (i3 - 8145U, 2,10 GHz, 4 MB) - 35,6 cm (14") LED - 16:9 Full HD - LCD - ComfyView - Intel® UHD Graphics 620 - 4 GB DDR4 SDRAM (I've added another 4GB)

My EFI Folder is here: https://dosyayukle.club/Tuk/EFI_2.zip

My problem is that, my laptop uses Intel UHD 620 IGPU. Only way i managed to get my GPU properly work was (you can see in the EFI folder) faking it as an Intel Iris Plus Graphics 655 . I was wondering, if anyone in the forum had similliar setup which uses i3 8145U and UHD 620 was able to get their device recognised as it is?

My brightness controll doesn't work aswell. I use brightness slider app from the apple store to be able to control the brightness control. If i go to the config.plist and activate HECI to IMEI and GPU0 to IGPU then my brightness control buttons work but max brightness is only %20, so its very dark...

If i use applebacklight kext from rehabman, my laptop won't open even in safe mode, so i am only left with reinstall whole OS...

I'll be waiting for your help, cheers!
 

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Motherboard
Supermicro X11SPA-T
CPU
Intel Xeon W-3275 28 Core
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
My problem is that, my laptop uses Intel UHD 620 IGPU. Only way i managed to get my GPU properly work was (you can see in the EFI folder) faking it as an Intel Iris Plus Graphics 655 . I was wondering, if anyone in the forum had similliar setup which uses i3 8145U and UHD 620 was able to get their device recognised as it is?
Recently, i helped another user on the forum having same specs. The GPU can be renamed. It doesn't matters. It's just cosmetic as the patch is done via device properties method.
My brightness controll doesn't work aswell. I use brightness slider app from the apple store to be able to control the brightness control. If i go to the config.plist and activate HECI to IMEI and GPU0 to IGPU then my brightness control buttons work but max brightness is only %20, so its very dark...

If i use applebacklight kext from rehabman, my laptop won't open even in safe mode, so i am only left with reinstall whole OS...

I'll be waiting for your help, cheers!
For the other issues, the configuration is not upto the mark.
Start here:

Hint: Use HD610, 615.....config.plist.
 

Zeisz

New member
Joined
Dec 28, 2019
Motherboard
145000
CPU
I3 8145U
Graphics
Intel UHD 620
OS X/macOS
10.15.x
Bootloader
  1. Clover (UEFI)
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Recently, i helped another user on the forum having same specs. The GPU can be renamed. It doesn't matters. It's just cosmetic as the patch is done via device properties method.

For the other issues, the configuration is not upto the mark.
Start here:

Hint: Use HD610, 615.....config.plist.

I actually seen that topic before i start this one. My laptop won't start with the config file you mention. It gives me tons of error codes one after another and gets stuck before even the apple logo.

My current priority is (if possible, or if i can) fixing the brightness control without changing my current config file. Do you think it is possible?
 

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Motherboard
Supermicro X11SPA-T
CPU
Intel Xeon W-3275 28 Core
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I actually seen that topic before i start this one. My laptop won't start with the config file you mention. It gives me tons of error codes one after another and gets stuck before even the apple logo.

My current priority is (if possible, or if i can) fixing the brightness control without changing my current config file. Do you think it is possible?
If it doesn't boots or throws error, doesn't means that you should skip or shift to something else. Attach the verbose video and also attach the PR files.
 

Zeisz

New member
Joined
Dec 28, 2019
Motherboard
145000
CPU
I3 8145U
Graphics
Intel UHD 620
OS X/macOS
10.15.x
Bootloader
  1. Clover (UEFI)
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
If it doesn't boots or throws error, doesn't means that you should skip or shift to something else. Attach the verbose video and also attach the PR files.

I am writing my thesis on this laptop, i don't have time or energy to install everything all over. I just wanted my brightness control to work but as i see there is no simple solution for my issue. Then i'll pass. Thank you for your time and effort, you can lock or delete the topic. I will re-open the topic when i finish my thesis.
 

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Motherboard
Supermicro X11SPA-T
CPU
Intel Xeon W-3275 28 Core
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I am writing my thesis on this laptop, i don't have time or energy to install everything all over. I just wanted my brightness control to work but as i see there is no simple solution for my issue. Then i'll pass. Thank you for your time and effort, you can lock or delete the topic. I will re-open the topic when i finish my thesis.
You can keep the thread open. :)
 

Similar threads

Forum statistics

Threads
542
Messages
5,220
Members
4,657
Latest member
HedUfIntel