EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Messages
2,696
Motherboard
Supermicro X11SPA-T
CPU
Intel Xeon W-3275 28 Core
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Gigabyte GC-Titan Ridge v2.0 cannot run on win10 after flashing the firmware. After flashing the firmware, it can run normally on the mac
Do not post duplicates.
 

Gassanov

New member
Joined
Mar 6, 2020
Messages
3
Motherboard
HP Z620
CPU
2x E5-2670v1
Graphics
RX580
OS X/macOS
10.15.x
Bootloader
  1. Clover (UEFI)
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
How to Enable Antelope, PreSonus, Slate Digital, Focusrite and Apogee Audio Interface on macOS
An EliteMacx86 Exclusive Guide - This guide covers implementation of Antelope, PreSonus, Slate Digital, Focusrite and Apogee Audio Interface on macOS for Thunderbolt compatible systems.

Overview


Recently, we announced that we introduced a solution for these non-working interfaces and few other Thunderbolt devices on systems with macOS installed. And, we're very happy to announce a public release for this solution to all the users out there who can try and report the bugs for further development for this project.

For more information on the exact issue and compatibility, refer to the thread linked below.

Requirements


The requirements for having this solution is pretty much the same as Thunderbolt. Few additional requirements has been outlined below.

HardwareCompatibility
CPUVT-d Compatible
Motherboard/chipsetVT-d Compatible
Real Macs2012 and Later

The very first step is to verify wether you have a supported CPU and Motherboard or not. To confirm the availability of VT-d, follow the steps below.

Visit the link below and select your processor variant.

Under Advanced Technology, make sure your processor supports "Intel® Virtualization Technology for Directed I/O (VT-d)"


Enabling Audio Support for Interface
The next step is to enable Audio for these interface. To enable Audio Support, follow the steps below.

STEP 1: Enabling VT-d
The very first step is to enable VT-d support for your system. To enable VT-d, follow the steps below.

1. On your target machine, boot the system into BIOS.
2. Under BIOS, find Intel VT-d. On some machine, the name can be simply VT-d. On few server motherboards, the option is hidden under Northbridge or Chipset Tab.
3. Set VT-d to Enabled.
4. Restart your system and boot into macOS.

STEP 2: Modifying the EFI Configuration
The next step is to modify the configuration to enable the Audio support. To enable Audio Support, follow the steps below.

For OpenCore
If you're using OpenCore, follow the steps below.

1. Mount your ESP.
2. Go to EFI/OC/ directory and open your config.plist.
3. Go to Kernel Tab and uncheck "DisableIoMapper."
4. Go to NVRAM section and select "7C436110-AB2A-4BBB-A880-FE41995C9F82" under UUID list.
5. From Boot args, remove "dart=0."
6. Save your config.plist.

For Clover
If you're using Clover, follow the steps below.

1. Mount your ESP.
2. Go to EFI/OC/ directory and open your config.plist.
3. Go to Boot Tab and under boot args, remove "dart=0."
4. Go to Quirks Tab and uncheck "DisableIoMapper."
5. Save your config.plist.

STEP 3: Setting Up Drivers for your Audio Interface
The next step is to setup drivers for your Audio Interface. To setup the drivers, follow the steps below.

1. Remove the preinstalled launchers and drivers.
2. Visit your Interface manufacturer's website and download the appropriate drivers for your Audio Interface.
3. Install the required drivers for your Audio Interface.

STEP 4: Setting up Audio Interface
The next step is to setup Audio Interface. To setup your Audio Interface, follow the steps below.

1. Reset your Audio Interface twice.
2. Shutdown your Audio Interface.
3. Connect it to your System.
4. Restart the System.

Now the installation is complete!

Enjoy your Audio Interface on your system :)

Notes:
  • For some manufacturer, you may need to signup for an account to access the downloads.
  • For some Audio Interface, you need to download Launcher and Drivers. In case, if the Launcher has an option to install the drivers, just download the launcher.
  • For Big Sur and Later, you may need to allow the loading of drivers from System Preferences>Security & Privacy.
  • Use the latest drivers for your Audio Interface.
  • A proper Thunderbolt Hotplug is required for a better functionality.

Project Status, Bugs and Further Development

As stated previously, we were supposed to bring the solution to public and with the release of this solution, there are few bugs which have been outlined below.

With some motherboards, when enabling VT-d, the entire Network feature is disabled such as Ethernet and WiFi. However, this issue is only limited to Big Sur. A current workaround is to use Catalina or any USB based WiFi/Ethernet Adapter. Another issue is on some motherboards, the USB ports are broken. We're still testing the project under several environments and hoping to make it more reliable for the users.

The old Unsupported Macs, i.e Macs from 2011 and below, which does not features VT-d, is still not supported by this solution and the only workaround as of now is to use macOS Sierra and the same is applicable for other machines which does not supports VT-d function.

AMD CPUs are still not supported by this solution and to overcome this issue, the second workaround is what works as of now.

If you can consider a contribution towards the forum for bringing this solution to you, a donation is more than welcome to support this project and help developers to keep the development in progress.

Regards,
EliteMacx86
Is this solution work with PCIE Firewire card? I have saffire pro 40
 

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Messages
2,696
Motherboard
Supermicro X11SPA-T
CPU
Intel Xeon W-3275 28 Core
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS

Gassanov

New member
Joined
Mar 6, 2020
Messages
3
Motherboard
HP Z620
CPU
2x E5-2670v1
Graphics
RX580
OS X/macOS
10.15.x
Bootloader
  1. Clover (UEFI)
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes, it will work.
Not working on my system

HpZ620 Dual E52670v1
Im using two Saffire pro 40.
Everutime MacOS Boot i didn get sound from saffire
 

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Messages
2,696
Motherboard
Supermicro X11SPA-T
CPU
Intel Xeon W-3275 28 Core
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Not working on my system

HpZ620 Dual E52670v1
Im using two Saffire pro 40.
Everutime MacOS Boot i didn get sound from saffire
No PR files attached.
 

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Messages
2,696
Motherboard
Supermicro X11SPA-T
CPU
Intel Xeon W-3275 28 Core
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS

Studio Maca

New member
Joined
Nov 29, 2021
Messages
2
Motherboard
Z390 Aorus pro
CPU
I7 9700k
Graphics
Sapphire PULSE Radeon RX 580
OS X/macOS
10.14.x
Bootloader
  1. Clover (UEFI)
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello, first of all thank you very much for your help!!!

I feel I'm almost there but I still cannot connect my Antelope Goliath HD to my Hack.. :confused: I use a Gigabyte Titan Ridge rev.1 (FW 43)

I followed your method, did enable Vt-d and removed dart=0 from my config.plist (see attached), but I think I'm missing something else !
Indeed, when I open IOreg, I don't even see the "IOaudioStream"?
Here are some screenshots to illustrate my problem.

I already tried this:
- updated the Unified Driver from Antelope > no success
- updated the FW of the Titan Ridge via Windows (to FW50) > nope
- changed the TB cable > nope
- changed the TB port on the Titan Ridge > nope

BTW, my UAD-2 OCTO satelitte & Protools HD Native card work fine, but the Goliath still doesn't work.

Any idea of where to start looking for?
Thanks in advance!
Franky
 

Attachments

  • No IOaudiostream shown.png
    No IOaudiostream shown.png
    180.4 KB · Views: 11
  • No thunderbolt manager.png
    No thunderbolt manager.png
    84.6 KB · Views: 11
  • No audio device.png
    No audio device.png
    149.5 KB · Views: 9
  • Extension YES but NO autentified.png
    Extension YES but NO autentified.png
    185.8 KB · Views: 10
  • config.plist.zip
    2.8 KB · Views: 7

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Messages
2,696
Motherboard
Supermicro X11SPA-T
CPU
Intel Xeon W-3275 28 Core
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hello, first of all thank you very much for your help!!!

I feel I'm almost there but I still cannot connect my Antelope Goliath HD to my Hack.. :confused: I use a Gigabyte Titan Ridge rev.1 (FW 43)

I followed your method, did enable Vt-d and removed dart=0 from my config.plist (see attached), but I think I'm missing something else !
Indeed, when I open IOreg, I don't even see the "IOaudioStream"?
Here are some screenshots to illustrate my problem.

I already tried this:
- updated the Unified Driver from Antelope > no success
- updated the FW of the Titan Ridge via Windows (to FW50) > nope
- changed the TB cable > nope
- changed the TB port on the Titan Ridge > nope

BTW, my UAD-2 OCTO satelitte & Protools HD Native card work fine, but the Goliath still doesn't work.

Any idea of where to start looking for?
Thanks in advance!
Franky
Incomplete PR files attached.
 

Studio Maca

New member
Joined
Nov 29, 2021
Messages
2
Motherboard
Z390 Aorus pro
CPU
I7 9700k
Graphics
Sapphire PULSE Radeon RX 580
OS X/macOS
10.14.x
Bootloader
  1. Clover (UEFI)
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi!

Which PR files do you actually need?

By the way, I fugured out that vt-d still doens’t show up in IOReg.

Even If I :
enabled VT-d in the BIOS (latest version)
disable Thunderbolt Vt-d security in BIOS -> BTW, is it relevant?
removed dart=0 from Boot arg,
unchecked disable iomapper in my Clover config (see attached)

Still no AppleVTD...

So I also tried to take out the drop DMAR table, as mentionned by CaseSJ on TonyMacx...

In your Clover config.plist, please try deleting DMAR as shown below (i.e. remove that line), then reboot (VT-d must be enabled in BIOS). Does AppleVTD now appear in IOReg?
View attachment 523102
But when I do so, my hack doesn't boot anymore and show this (see attached).

Any idea what's wrong?

BTW, I have 2 Corsair Vengeance LPX Series Low Profile 32 Go (2x 16 Go) DDR4 2666 MHz CL16 in SLOT A1 & B1

Many thanks for your help!
 

Attachments

  • No VT-d in IO registry.png
    No VT-d in IO registry.png
    72.1 KB · Views: 7
  • removing DMAR > BOOT crash.jpg
    removing DMAR > BOOT crash.jpg
    794.5 KB · Views: 7
  • config.plist.zip
    2.8 KB · Views: 6

Trending Threads

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
553
Messages
5,564
Members
4,944
Latest member
Melgio