Acer Aspire 3 - i5 10210u - SSD not detected

deleteme

New member
Joined
Feb 29, 2020
Messages
4
Motherboard
Acer Aspire A315-54
CPU
Intel Core i5-10210U
Graphics
Intel UHD Graphics
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. Clover (UEFI)
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey everybody,

I've purchased an Acer Aspire 3 A315-54-53AC with the following specs

  • Intel Core i5 10210U (4 x 1.6 GHz)
  • 8 GB DDR4-RAM
  • 256 SSD Kingston RBU SNS8154P3256GJ1
  • Intel UHD Graphics

I was able to reach the installation GUI, but the SSD won't be recognized by disk utility. HFSplus.efi is already in /Clover/drivers/UEFI . In BIOS I don't find the option to set SATA to AHCI, maybe you see something on the attached pictures. I also attached the EFI folder. Any help would be appreciated! :)
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    3.5 MB · Views: 387
  • IMG_2868.jpg
    IMG_2868.jpg
    3.2 MB · Views: 366
  • IMG_2869.jpg
    IMG_2869.jpg
    3.1 MB · Views: 347
  • IMG_2870.jpg
    IMG_2870.jpg
    2.9 MB · Views: 367
  • IMG_2871.jpg
    IMG_2871.jpg
    3.5 MB · Views: 318
  • IMG_2872.jpg
    IMG_2872.jpg
    2.6 MB · Views: 284

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Messages
3,644
Motherboard
Supermicro X11SPA-T
CPU
Intel Xeon W-3275 28 Core
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hey everybody,

I've purchased an Acer Aspire 3 A315-54-53AC with the following specs

  • Intel Core i5 10210U (4 x 1.6 GHz)
  • 8 GB DDR4-RAM
  • 256 SSD Kingston RBU SNS8154P3256GJ1
  • Intel UHD Graphics

I was able to reach the installation GUI, but the SSD won't be recognized by disk utility. HFSplus.efi is already in /Clover/drivers/UEFI . In BIOS I don't find the option to set SATA to AHCI, maybe you see something on the attached pictures. I also attached the EFI folder. Any help would be appreciated! :)
You need to disable Optane and set it back to AHCI. If the AHCI option is not available even after disabling Optane, you need to use a kext to make the SATA working. If it doesn't works, you need to rollback your BIOS.

From the Device Manager, attach a screenshot of SATA Device ID.
 

deleteme

New member
Joined
Feb 29, 2020
Messages
4
Motherboard
Acer Aspire A315-54
CPU
Intel Core i5-10210U
Graphics
Intel UHD Graphics
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. Clover (UEFI)
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for your reply!

I attached the asked screenshot and also a complete report created by hwinfo64 (before updating the bios), maybe this will help.

There's no option to disable Optane in this BIOS as far as I can see.
 

Attachments

  • Ohne Titel.jpg
    Ohne Titel.jpg
    114.3 KB · Views: 296
  • ACER Aspire 3 Specs.htm.zip
    15.3 KB · Views: 218

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Messages
3,644
Motherboard
Supermicro X11SPA-T
CPU
Intel Xeon W-3275 28 Core
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Thanks for your reply!

I attached the asked screenshot and also a complete report created by hwinfo64 (before updating the bios), maybe this will help.

There's no option to disable Optane in this BIOS as far as I can see.
This is a known issue in some new Acer Laptops. Try to downgrade the BIOS.
 

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Messages
3,644
Motherboard
Supermicro X11SPA-T
CPU
Intel Xeon W-3275 28 Core
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS

deleteme

New member
Joined
Feb 29, 2020
Messages
4
Motherboard
Acer Aspire A315-54
CPU
Intel Core i5-10210U
Graphics
Intel UHD Graphics
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. Clover (UEFI)
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
ASUS is definitely better. Have you tried to use SATAUnsupported kext and check with that? The above is a RAID configuration using RST Premium.

Yes, SATAunsupported was my first idea, but nothing changed with that kext. Because you mentioned it already - the RAID/RST should work I guess?
 

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Messages
3,644
Motherboard
Supermicro X11SPA-T
CPU
Intel Xeon W-3275 28 Core
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Yes, SATAunsupported was my first idea, but nothing changed with that kext. Because you mentioned it already - the RAID/RST should work I guess?
The Optane and RST Premium must be disabled so it can work even in RAID mode. A similar issue i faced in HP Spectre.
 
  • Like
Reactions: deleteme

Samwed

New member
Joined
Apr 20, 2019
Messages
1
Motherboard
Acer Aspire A315-54
CPU
Intel Core i5-10210U
Graphics
Intel UHD Graphics
OS X/macOS
11.0.x
Bootloader
  1. Clover (Legacy)
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hey man, did you manage to make a hackintosh on this laptop? If so, I could share your EFI because I have similar hardware.
 

bahaedin

New member
Joined
Apr 4, 2022
Messages
3
Motherboard
Acer Aspire A315-54
CPU
i5-10210U
Graphics
Intel UHD 620
OS X/macOS
12.0.x
Bootloader
  1. OpenCore
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I arrived late, but it does not matter I wanted to tell you that it is possible to install macOS on this pc I have an Acer Aspire A315-54 10th Gen , with macOS Montery 12.3.1 & Windows 10 installed in 2 SSD

To change the SATA MODE, you must enter the BIOS and type CTRL+S it will display a (Hidden) option to change it.

This information should help other people. :)
 

Trending Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
720
Messages
7,471
Members
6,299
Latest member
acaballeroa